This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Advance Program »

Keynote Presentation #3

Talk title: Bringing 3D, Ultra-resolution, and Virtual Reality into the Global LambaGrid Collaboratory


While there have been experiments for at least 15 years in distributed virtual reality, most of these have occurred using the best effort shared internet.

As a result of the OptiPuter project, Calit2 and the Electronic Visualization Lab at UIC have been experimenting with innovative 3D, ultra-resolution, and Virtual Reality user interfaces to dedicated 10 gigabit per second light pipes.

I will describe these ultra resolution 3D environments as well as the National and Global-scale LambdaGrid in which they are imbedded.

About the Speaker

photo: larry smarr


Larry Smarr is the founding director of the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology and Harry E. Gruber professor in the Jacobs School's Department of Computer Science and Engineering at UCSD. Smarr is Principal Investigator on the NSF OptIPuter LambdaGrid project and is Co-PI on the NSF LOOKING ocean observatory prototype.

As founding director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (1985) and the National Computational Science Alliance (1997), Smarr has driven major contributions to the development of the national information infrastructure: the Internet, the Web, the emerging Grid, collaboratories, and scientific visualization. His views have been quoted in Science, Nature, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Time, Newsweek, Fortune, and Business Week, and he gives frequent keynote addresses at professional conferences and to popular audiences.

Smarr received his Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin and conducted observational, theoretical, and computational based astrophysical sciences research for fifteen years before becoming Director of NCSA. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

In 1990 he received the Franklin Institute's Delmer S. Fahrney Gold Medal for Leadership in Science or Technology.

He was a member of the President's Information Technology Advisory Committee and serves on the Advisory Committee to the Director of the National Institutes of Health and the NASA Advisory Council.

He served as chair of NASA's Earth System Science and Applications Advisory Committee and was the first chair of the newly formed NASA Science Advisory Council.